Cloud storage is one of the major sources of saving and accessing your data from anywhere in the world, among all the competitors Dropbox, Onedrive, Evernote etc. etc. Google is the one company which was offering largest space for free that is 15 GB per account for free. In that 15 Gb all the services provided by google are stored like Gmail, Google Photos, Google Drive, Google contacts all these were interlinked so a person can use upto 15 GB of space to store anything in its account. That means on the cloud storage of Google servers.
But for very long Google has offered syncing between Google Photos and Google Drive, but it’s putting an end to that in the name of simplicity. “We’ve heard feedback that the connection between these services is confusing, so next month, we’re making some changes to simplify the experience across Drive and Photos,” Dan Schlosser and Jason Gupta, product managers for Drive and Photos respectively, wrote in a blog post today.
The changes will takes effect from July, photos and videos you add to Drive won’t automatically appear in Photos and vice versa. Additionally, file deletions won’t sync between the two. “This change is designed to help prevent accidental deletion of items across products,” Schlosser and Gupta wrote. Indeed, the current system provides ample opportunity for users to screw something up and unknowingly lose important photos if they’re not careful. Here’s how it works as of now:
Google will offer a way for people to copy images or videos from Drive over to Photos with a new “upload from Drive” option coming to the Google Photos website. However, you’ll then have two versions of the same file without any link between them. Google warns that this might cause headaches when it comes to your cloud storage, since if the copied item is original quality, it’ll eat up space in both places. Not great. (Photos uploaded at “high” quality do not count against your storage.)
Google stresses that nothing will be automatically deleted in July when it cuts off this cross integration. “Any photos or videos from Drive in Photos that you have uploaded prior to this change will remain in Photos. If you have a ‘Google Photos’ folder in Drive, it will remain in Drive, but will no longer update automatically,” Schlosser and Gupta said.
Hence, making both services apart is a good initiative as both apps or service serves different purpose as in Google Photos its for storing all you Photos and videos which is great. Similarly, in Google drive its been used to save all important documents as for me it is a great thing Google did as I do not want to mess around my photos and important data at same place. Now the user can use both service for what exactly they were made for with peace of mind all the hassle and minginess will disappear.